Julsaga

Tänkte att jag skulle bjuda på en liten julsaga så här på måndagen. Är mitt individuella arbete på engelskan och är inspirerad av Stephenie Meyer's bok "The Host".


Enjoy!


What is there to celebrate?

"It was so dark and, above all, cold outside. Surely about – 30 degrees . So, I was guessing that I looked something like Rudolf the red nosed reindeer by now. All though, I was glad that my nose didn't actually glow. Cause that would have blown my cover off right away.
I guess that was why I was enduring the cold and the darkness too, because that combination together nearly made me invisible.
I made my way trough the snow and soon I was standing at the edge of the wood. I hunched down, to make me as little as possible and started for the backyard at the nearest house.
It was dark inside, so nobody seemed to be at home. Good. I sneaked around the house to get to the door on the front.
Half way there, my eyes caught the celebrating family eating Christmas dinner, in one of the houses near by. A hole family of freaks! Parasites!
If I hadn't known the truth for a fact, I wouldn't have been able to separate these creatures from my own kind. The little boy, the old lady, the young girl, everyone sitting around that table seemed in many was just like my own kind. Behaving like a real family, so natural.
But now there was nothing left of the original humans in there, only their bodies, hosted by those silver wormed parasites.
They were all the same, acting the same way. Always so friendly, never even arguing. How could they call themselves good? After all they had done to us, after all the lives they had taken. Almost everyone I loved and had known was now dead because of them. Maybe not by body, but by soul.
Then what could they possibly have to celebrate? That they had restored peace on earth?
At least for us that could still call ourselves humans, the biggest war in are humanity was still going on.
I was now by the front door. The only good thing with these damned creatures was that they trusted everyone to be trustworthy, despite from real humans. So I could naturally just wander into the empty house through an unlocked door. I quietly closed it behind me.

Well inside I started for the kitchen. I had to feel my way through the dark corridors, since I didn't want to turn on the lights in fear of revealing myself. Half way through rounding the corner into the next room, I froze to a halt. There was lighted candles on a table next to a porridge bowl standing beside it. Was somebody home? I felt my pulse accelerate and quickly looked around me, trying to reveal whom ever might be in the room. But it was death silent in the house and I soon decided that there was no one there.
I slowly went over to the table with the bowl. Beside the bowl there was a barrel with bread and a pot of milk. I quickly put the bread into one of the backpacks I was carrying with me and then I made a quick glance at the bowl beside me. Rice pudding? Why on earth had they put rice pudding out? Then it hit me. Santa Claus! Either this was another one of their ways of trying to be human, or this were their way of trying to trick Santa to come over, so they could take his body as well. What a dark joke! Anyway, the porridge bowl felt to surreal for me to grasp right now, so I started for the kitchen again. Well there I, as quietly as I could, opened the refrigerator and just as quickly I tried to damp the light which was coming from inside it. I felt my way through the shelfs and soon found some unopened packages of milk. The next thing I grabbed was something that was wrapped and round. By the smell I could soon identify it with Christmas pudding, so I put it into one of the backpacks along with the milk. Soon my fingers identified some sugarplums, some spiced apple juice and some chilled bottles of coke! Oh, it was such a long time since I drank a coca-cola.
I quickly put this into the backpack with everything else.
Next I went for the pantry. In there I found some oranges and to my delight also some gingerbread and some candy canes. I could barely bare myself.
Then I got caught by a smell. Something smelled like stuffed turkey. I went over to the oven and found that inside there was a fried turkey. It wasn't before then I heard the clock.
I searched for the ticking noise and soon find the egg clock. To my despair I found that it would ring within 25 minutes, which probably meant that I would have some company in here any time now. Oh, I felt so stupid. How could I have been so inattentive?
I quickly shoved the turkey, which I now had placed into a plastic bag, into the backpack which was still empty. Then I went for the door.

Nearly sprinting back to the forest, passing the unknowing freaks again, I thought about the surprised faces of the parasites that soon would find their kitchen emptied of food. I gladly wondered to myself if they might believe it was Santa that had himself a little snack. I had to suffocate the giggle that was bubbling up my troth. And then I once again was standing in the secure dark shadows of the woods and started hurrying back to the others that was waiting for me in the caves.
I had the funniest feeling when I started to make my way back through the snow. This might actually be the first real Christmas for us in a really long time. Not because we hadn't had the chance to celebrate Christmas since the invasion, but that this might be the first time we really appreciated it, for the right reasons as well.
We could celebrate it for the obvious reason, which was the birth of Jesus. But I already knew that we were going to celebrate the fact that we actually still were alive and the fact that we all were together. And in some sense, I knew that this would lighten up our little camp and make everyone come closer together again.
Slowly I started to feel wonderful, despite the snow and the cold. It was like the magic you always felt on Christmas morning when you were little. It was the first time I had felt hope in a really long time. I knew that humanity wasn't going to gain control over the earth again anytime soon and that I might not even live to see it. But I knew we were going to make it. Now wasn't that something to celebrate?"

The End.



Hoppas ni gillade den, feel free to leave comments! :)


Cut the crap out allready...

Ciao!


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback